lucky you - your browser doesnt play annoying midis

12/10/14 - NNHS Newsletter - Phillip Avis

Phillip Lambert Avis
(21 June 1931 - 28 Nov 2014)

Newport News High School High School Class of 1948

Dear Friends and Schoolmates,

   We have another sad if rather belated edition of the NNHS Newsletter this Wednesday morning.
       Phillip Avis, Class of 1948, brother of Lee Avis and of the late   Tom Avis (June '44), passed away at Wake Medical Center in Raleigh, North Carolina on Friday, November 28, 2014, at the age of 83. 


From the Daily Press - 12/10/14:

                 Philip Lambert Avis

 

 

HENRICO, NC - Philip Lambert Avis, age 83, born June 21, 1931 in Lewisburg, WV, passed away at Wake Medical Center in Raleigh, NC, November 28, 2014.

He was predeceased by his loving wife of 59 years, Elizabeth Armistead Booker Avis. Philip graduated from Newport News High School in 1948 and the University of Virginia in 1952 with a BA in Economics. He went on to graduate from University of Virginia School of Law in 1956.

In the interim between college and law school Philip was in the Navy ROTC and then with Army Intelligence at Fort Monroe.

He practiced law in Newport News for 40 years before retiring to Lake Gaston. Many of those years were in partnership with his brother Tom.

 

 
 

 

 

Philip was a proud member of Mensa, the Original Club, Newport News Moose Lodge, and the Lake Gaston Lions Club. He enjoyed volunteering for the Lions at both Camp Dogwood and the Outer Banks working with the blind.

He was very involved with KIPP Gaston College Prep teaching classes in chess, bridge, debate and law. He held various positions on the Northampton Board of Adjustments. He was never at a loss for an adventure. He held a private pilot's license with an instrument rating. He sorely missed his Smile's boating family but was able to take two cruises on the Mar-Sue this year. He even went white water rafting and took a canopy tour on the New River this year.

In addition to his wife, he was predeceased by his parents Evelyn T. Avis and Earl B. Avis, and his brother Thomas W. Avis and son Hunter Russell Avis.

Surviving him are one brother, Lee Martin Avis (Heidi): a sister-in-law, Patricia C. Avis; one son, Totten Lambert Avis (Marilyn); two daughters, Elizabeth Leigh Avis Pioletti (John) and Virginia Lynne Avis Williams; six grandchildren, Zachery Ashton Adams, Lauren Avis Halpin, Christian Hope Avis, Phillip Lee Avis, Justin Michael Pioletti, Madeleine Grace Williams; and two great grandchildren, Ashton Collier Adams and Lillian Harris.

The family is preparing a memorial service for 2 p.m. on January 17th, 2015 at the Lake Gaston Lions Club.

To honor Philip's various interests the family asks that donations be sent in lieu of flowers to a . They suggest the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters in Norfolk, VA as one such charity with particular meaning to Philip.

Online condolences may be made at www.hockadayfs.com. View and post condolences on our online guestbook at dailypress.com/guestbooks.

Published in the Daily Press on December 10, 2014.
View Guest Book

 

Dec
ember 02, 2014, 1:34 PM
 
Dear Avis Family, we are so very sorry to know our dear friend is no longer with us. May you all gain strength from the love and support of family and friends. Merritt and Beth Pittman

- Mr. and Mrs. MG Pittman
 


December 10, 2014

M
 

 
December 10, 2014 
 
D

 
December 10, 2014
 
M

 

 
December 10, 2014
 
M

 
December 10, 2014
 
M
 

 
December 10, 2014
 
D
 


December 10, 2014

 
S
 

 
December 10, 2014
 
D
 

 
December 10, 2014
 
M
 

 
December 10, 2014

M
 



December
10, 2014
 
  O
 

 

  Our deepest sympathies are extended to the Avis family and their friends at this difficult time.


  Y'all take good care of each other!  TYPHOONS FOREVER! We'll Always Have Buckroe!

                          Love to all, Carol

==============================================

NNHS CLASS OF '65 WEB SITE: http://www.nnhs65.com

PERSONAL WEB SITE: http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/cluckmeat

==============================================

Carol Buckley Harty
7020 Lure Court
Fayetteville, NC 28311-9309
910-584-8802
 


Amazing Grace

Words by John Newton, 1779
(24 July 1725 21 Dec 1807)
 

 Amazing grace! (how sweet the sound)
That sav'd a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

'Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears reliev'd;
How precious did that grace appear,
The hour I first believ'd!

Thro' many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come;
'Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promis'd good to me,
His word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease;
I shall possess, within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,
The sun forbear to shine;
But God, who call'd me here below,
Will be forever mine.


Bagpipes Version of "Amazing Grace" midi courtesy of http://breadsite.org/classic.htm - 05/25/08
at the suggestion of Dave Spriggs ('64) of VA - 05/21/08
Thanks, Dave!

"Amazing Grace" lyrics courtesy of http://www.friendsacrossamerica.com/amazinggrace.html - 03/15/05

Greg Olsen Paintings courtesy of http://gregolsengallery.com 01/27/05

Animated Navy and Army Flags clip art courtesy of http://www.angelfire.com/ny4/KevsGifsGalore/Patriotic.html - 06/18/03

Blackwork Flowers Divider Line clip art courtesy of http://www.bravenet.com - 08/12/04

Mensa Logo courtesy of http://manasota.us.mensa.org/ - 12/10/14

Moose Lodge Logo courtesy of http://www.silverbuckleband.com/SilverBuckleSchedule1.html - 11/24/08

Lions International Logo courtesy of http://www.firmston.com/pwlions/fundraising.htm - 02/06/08

Back to NNHS Newsletters - 2014

Return to NNHS Class of 1965